# MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF JEFFERSON ENERGY COOPERATIVE

January 29, 2025

#### CALL TO ORDER

The Board of Directors of Jefferson Energy Cooperative met at the Headquarters in Wrens on Wednesday, January 29, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. The following Directors were present:

Rhonda L. Daigs Mark D. Davis Tim Garrett James L. Gay Larry W. Hadden Ophelia McCain Derek Partridge Tommy Phelps Joe Shurley

Also attending the meeting were James T. Jones, Attorney; Wayne A. Gossage, President & CEO; Kenny Johnson, Vice President of Line Services; Kim Sharpe, Vice President of Corporate Services; Miranda Youngblood, Vice President of Energy Services; Geoff Potter, Vice President of Information Services; and Martha Scott, Executive Assistant.

#### ACTION ON AGENDA

The Agenda for the January 31, 2024 Board meeting was sent to the Board prior to the meeting. A motion was made and seconded to approve the Agenda. The motion was approved.

#### **ACTION ON MINUTES**

A copy of the of the regular Board Meeting minutes held on December 23, 2024 were sent to the Board members for review prior to the meeting. A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes. There was no additional discussion. The motion was approved.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive Session was called to order at 9:00 a.m. The Executive Session ended at 11:05 a.m. and General Session was called to order.

A motion was made and seconded to approve actions taken during Executive Session including:

Acceptance as information the 2025 Line Maintenance Contracts.

On behalf of the Corporate Services Committee, Tim Garrett recommended that the 2025 Financial Budget be approved as presented. After discussion, the recommendations as presented by Mr. Garrett were approved.

## **APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS 5-6**

A motion was made and seconded to accept Agenda Items 5-6, Old Business and Informational Reports, as information. All questions were answered to the satisfaction of the Directors. The motion was approved.

#### **GEMC REPORT**

Mr. Garrett reported the GEMC Board will meet February 10. Wayne Gossage reported on the upcoming GEMC day at the Capitol with legislators, scheduled for February 2025.

#### NRECA REPORT

Mr. Partridge stated that he and several board directors and Jefferson Energy staff will be attending the NRECA PowerXchange Annual meeting in March.

Mr. Gossage reported on the new Trump administrations EPA updates.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2025 NRECA PowerXchange Per Diem for three days of meetings and one in-state travel day.

#### POWER SUPPLY

The 2025 Member Representatives and Alternates were appointed for the following:

- <u>OPC, GTC, GSOC</u>: Thomas Phelps, Member Representative; Wayne Gossage, Alternate
- <u>Smarr EMC</u>: Thomas Phelps, Member Representative; Wayne Gossage, Alternate
- <u>Green Power EMC</u>: Rhonda Daigs, Member Representative; Wayne Gossage, Alternate
- <u>GEC</u>: Mark Davis, Director Director; Wayne Gossage, Manager Director

A motion was made and seconded to approve appointments. The motion was approved.

<u>OPC, GTC, GSOC</u> Mr. Shurley reported that the next OPC, GTC, GSOC Member Representative meeting will be the Annual Meeting held in March.

<u>Georgia Energy Cooperative (GEC)</u> There was nothing to report.

<u>Green Power</u> There was nothing to report.

## VICE PRESIDENTS' REPORTS

Energy Services Report

The Directors reviewed the Energy Services Report prepared by Ms. Youngblood.

Line Services Report

The Directors reviewed the Line Services Report prepared by Mr. Johnson.

Corporate Services Report

The Directors reviewed the Corporate Services Report prepared by Ms. Sharpe.

Information Services Report

The Directors reviewed the Information Services Report prepared by Mr. Potter.

# PRESIDENT & CEO REPORT

Appointment of the 2025 Nominating Committee The 2025 Nominating Committee was appointed:

> North Region: Larry Hadden

- Anthony Lamb

Joe Shurley	-Betty English
Tommy Phelps	-Benny Colclough
Richmond County Region:	
Ophelia McCain	-Victoria Johnson
Rhonda Daigs	-George Williams
Derek Partridge	-James Jarriel
South Region:	
Jim Gay	-Brian Whitaker
Tim Garrett	-Keith Lamb
Mark Davis	-Billy Valduga

A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2025 Nominating Committee. After discussion by the board, the motion was approved.

Action on the 2025 JEC Foundation Board Members

The 2025 Jefferson Energy Cooperative Foundation Board of Directors was appointed.

<u>North Region</u> : Larry Hadden Joe Shurley Tommy Phelps	-Dale Garner -Betty English -Kathy Wells
<u>Richmond County Region</u> : Ophelia McCain Rhonda Daigs Derek Partridge	-Katrina Bowman -Augustus Palmer -Ann Brinkman
<u>South Region</u> : Jim Gay Tim Garrett Mark Davis	-Melanie Norton -Sondra Fortner -Judy Jones

A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2025 Jefferson Energy Cooperative Foundation Board of Directors. After discussion by the board, the motion was approved.

Report from the JEC Foundation

Ann Brinkman, JEC Foundation Chair, joined the meeting. She provided a summary of the work of the Foundation during 2024.

# PRESIDENT & CEO REPORT

Martha Scott provided meeting updates and reminders.

## NEXT MEETING

The next regular meeting of the Board of Directors is scheduled for Wednesday, February 26, 2025, at 9:00 a.m.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

James L. Gay, Secretary-Treasurer

Approved:

Larry Hadden, Chairman